Return to News Page

The Bowdon Blog 2014 - Part 2 (July - December)

(Click here for part 1, January - June 2014)

The annual Bowdon Blog contains a precis of what happened at the club during 2014.

Click here for all North-West Federation league results

Bowdon beat a very strong Ashby side 4-3 in the Inter-Club Golf Croquet knockout competition........
.................but fell at the next hurdle losing 5-1 at Watfotd

Brian Storey won the Mid-Summer Advanced Tournament at Heaton Park

The London side consisting of Ken & Sue Cooper and Rupert Webb & John Wastell won the Bowdon version of the Inter-Counties.

James Hawkins won the Northerns 'A' Class.
for other winners click here

Bowdon won their second round match of the Longman Cup by beating Southport away.

There were Swinging Sunday wins for Jo Pierpoint and Gordon Hennell.

The Secretary's Shield team got through to the final by beating St. Albans 4-1. The Longman Cup team beat Southport and  Chester to reach the semi-final.

Mark Avery won the North of England Championship

Mike Steer won Wild Wednesday

Graham Good won the All-England Handicap Area Final. and followed it up later in the year by winning the national final at Pendle.

Some members took themselves off to Ripon for a Golf Croquet weekend.

The club was given the honour of holding the President's Cup (the most prestigious of the CA Eights) which was won by Jamie Burch.

Meanwhile, Bowdon's Matt Holmes won another of the CA Eights - the Spencer-Ell Cup.

Charles Harding managed and won the Sheila Black Salver.

Mike Steer got out his video equipment and filmed some of the Bowdon v. Bury Short Croquet League match, featuring Carol Sinclair, John Haworth, Graham Abraham and Will Mellor, plus the A-Advanced League match v. Crake Valley, featuring Colin Irwin, Richard Smith & Francois Garcia.

There were two great wins in national Cup competitions with Bowdon winning the Secretary's Shield and the Longman Cup.

The  2014 Longman Cup Team

Secretary's Shield final v Oxford University

The Wednesday Competition went to the wire with Lorna Frost winning by three points on the last day of the season.

A new competition, to be played for annually, the Poppy Roquet, was introduced with Alan Mayne the first winner.

John Haworth won the first of the Wednesday Winter One-ball competitions
 followed by wins by Graham Abraham  (twice), Leo Fletcher, Chris Evans, Pauline Hennell and Graham Good.

The year ended as usual with the AGM and the Dinner Dance.
(more....)                                                                      (more....)


Colin Irwin
David Walters
B Class
Barry Keen
Charles Harding
C Class
Bill Oxley
Liz Webb
D Class
Graham Good
Kay Martin
E Class
Bob Hunter
Leo Fletcher
14pt. Advanced
David Walters
Andrew Winn/Colin Irwin
14pt. Handicap Alan Mayne
Will Mellor
Silver Box
Stephen Moores or Colin Irwin (to be played)

Bob Hunter Frank Moir
Graham Good
Chris Evans
Handicap Doubles Final Graham Good/Graham Abraham Frank/Janice Moir
Handicap Ladder
Graham Good

Wednesday Seasonal Award
Lorna Frost
John Wastell
Wild Wednesday
Mike Steer
Lorna Frost